Research symposium recognizes exciting advancements in dermatology

Recipients of this year’s Everett C. Fox Memorial Award presented the most outstanding papers in basic science and clinical research Feb. 17, during the “Resident and Fellows Research Symposium” (S024). The top papers were chosen by faculty judges led by Robert Dellavalle, MD, PhD.

(Left): Jusleen Ahluwalia, MD, the 3rd place winner of the basic science category. Seated is Dr. Dellavalle, the director of the symposium.

Basic Science

1 – Elena Netchiporouk, MD – Analysis of CTCL cell lines reveals important differences between Mycosis Fungoides (MF)/Sézary Syndrome (SS) vs. HTLV-1+ leukemic cell lines.

2 – Ashley Elsensohn, MD – Distinguishing neurofibroma from desmoplastic melanoma: the value of p53.

3 – Jusleen Ahluwalia, MD – The microbiome in preadolescent acne: assessment and prospective analysis on the influence of benzoyl peroxide.


1 – John Barbieri, MD – Effectiveness of spironolactone and oral tetracycline-class antibiotics for women with acne as assessed by therapeutic switching: a retrospective cohort study 2008-2014.

2 – Brent Doolan, MD – Impact of partial biopsies on the need for complete excisional surgery in the management of cutaneous melanomas: a multi-centre review.

3 – Riza  Milante, MD – Efficacy, safety, and tolerability of single versus multiple intralesional immunotherapy injection with purified protein derivative in the treatment of multiple verruca vulgaris: a non-inferiority trial.


Return to index