Resident highlights

Conquer the Boards

Residents who will be taking their board exams soon can get hands-on experience in the process by attending “Board Prep for Residents (AKA Conquer the Boards: An Experiential Review)” (C004) from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Friday in Room 143. Participating residents will experience a simulated, shortened version of the American Board of Dermatology certification exam.

Attendees will be able to practice their timing, get familiar with the exam format, and identify areas of weakness. The morning session will consist of two sections — a review of dermatopathology glass slides and a multiple-choice section that will encompass digital images and written questions. The afternoon session will be led by expert faculty members who will review test answers and provide high-yield information for the certification exam. This course will offer attendees 6 CME credits; tuition fee.

Learn a little, enjoy a lot during Resident Jeopardy

Have a little fun, assess your core competencies, and identify knowledge gaps to prepare for the board exam by attending “Resident Jeopardy” (S047) from 9 a.m. to noon Monday in Room 146B.

Presented in a format based on the iconic game show Jeopardy, “Resident Jeopardy” features teams from residency training programs that will compete in answering questions and image-based inquiries in all things dermatology. Audience members are invited to play along and test their own prowess.

Residents, fellows to present research in Fox award competition

See the latest research of talented residents and fellows about the pathophysiology and treatment of cutaneous disease at “The Residents and Fellows Symposium” (S034) from 1 to 4 p.m. Sunday in Room 102.

All 26 presentations in the session will be made by finalists for the Everett C. Fox Memorial Award, who are fellows and residents with an interest in clinical and basic science research.

The award was developed through an endowment from Dr. Fox, a leading dermatologist in Dallas and a faculty member at Baylor University and UT Southwestern University. Session faculty members will form a panel to judge the presentations and choose the award winner.

Return to index